Large family gathering outside


Over 125 Years of History


Edmonton, Kentucky, just 30 years old, successfully weathered the Civil War and was called home by many Veterans. However, the local veterans needed a bank to cash their pension checks. Catlett Waddy Thompson, a Civil War veteran himself, 
sought to meet the community's needs. In 1897, Mr. Thompson established The Peoples Bank of Metcalfe County.

Historic exterior of the Peoples Bank.


Peoples Bank of Metcalfe County merged with the Farmers Merchant Bank, forming Edmonton State Bank. The Presidents of ESB during this period were Catlett's son and grandson, A.J. and John Thompson. 
Man and woman in historic image.


J.D. Thompson became the bank's President, expanding into Monroe County, Kentucky, after purchasing The Peoples Bank of Tompkinsville in 1984. In 1997, the bank expanded into Glasgow, Kentucky, giving rise to our eighth branch.
Old photo of people in Glasgow, Kentucky branch.


Rapid growth occurred during this time. Edmonton State Bank entered Scottsville, Kentucky, in 2003, followed by Bowling Green, Kentucky, in 2007. Additionally, in 2007, the bank named J.D.'s son David Thompson as President, and he still fulfills this role today. 
Group image of men in old photo.


126 years have passed since the inception of Edmonton State Bank, where we now span five counties with fifteen branches. Five generations of the Thompson family have served as the Bank's President. After withstanding the Great Depression, the 2008 Financial Crisis, and the Covid-19 pandemic, ESB has stood firm on our values of keeping your money safe. Our deeply rooted history has made us one of Kentucky's most financially secure and unshakable banks. We are proud to expand that history into Sumner County, Tennessee. 
Old photo of Edmonton State Bank employees.


Since the bank's inception in 1897, Edmonton State Bank has grown from one branch in Metcalfe County to 18 locations in South Central Kentucky and Middle Tennessee. Edmonton State Bank is one of the 25 largest Banks headquartered in Kentucky, and it is one of the most sound and secure banks in the Commonwealth. Despite the dramatic growth, the same guiding principles of 1897 still hold steady in the way we do business today. Our customers are more than customers – they’re our neighbors and our friends. Edmonton State Bank's guiding principles of local decision-making and keeping the best interest of our customers at heart endure throughout the years. 
Exterior old image of The Peoples Bank.

Woman in the passenger seat of a car
Personal & Auto Loans

Our loan decision-making is local, and your loan is serviced right here at ESB.